Darrell G. Schlom Recipient of the James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials 2021

Darrell G. SchomDarrell G. Schom

Congratulations to ASCENT Theme 1 leader Darrell G. Schlom (Cornell University) for winning the James C. McGroddy prize for New Materials. "For pioneering the atomic-layer-by-layer synthesis of new metastable complex-oxide materials, and the discovery of resulting novel phenomena." This is the highest prize for materials discovery from the American Physical Society, recognizing and encouraging outstanding achievement in the science and application of new materials. It was established in 1997 and is endowed by IBM and the APS Division of Materials Physics, and awarded annually.

(Read More)